Published will be checked by default; this means when you Save the page, it will be live on the site for viewers to see.
Promoted to front page and Sticky at top of lists are not configured in the ASU theme by default. This means these items can be checked or unchecked with no effect on the website.
NOTE: If these options have been enabled for custom functionality on your website, you will be notified about what types of content they affect.
To save the work you have done on the page without making it visible to users of the site, uncheck the Published checkbox before you Save the page.